

## For immediate release Saturday November 16<sup>th</sup>

# EU Parliament president David Sassoli accepts the Honorary Presidency of the EUYO



Please click on the image to see the video

16/11/2019 - The President of the European Parliament, David Sassoli, has accepted an invitation to become Honorary President of the European Union Youth Orchestra. Since the foundation of the Orchestra in 1976 following a unanimous vote by the European Parliament, the Parliament's President has also taken the position of Honorary President of the Orchestra.

President David Sassoli announced his Honorary Presidency in a video message directed to the young people aged 16-26 that are now auditioning to be part of next year's Orchestra:

"As President of the European Parliament and as Honorary President of EUYO, I assure you that the European institutions will continue to support your work. The European cultural industry needs to evolve and to be better known by its citizens. Thanks to your commitment, we will succeed in creating a unique European cultural landscape".

The Orchestra's Co-Chairmen Sir John Tusa and Sir Ian Stoutzker, CBE commented: "As Co-Chairs of the European Union Youth Orchestra, we are delighted that the incoming President of the European Parliament has agreed to become Honorary President of the Orchestra. This is a strong expression of support for the EUYO's work as a representative of everything that is best about European cohesion and harmony. We look forward to continuing to fulfil that mission in the years ahead".

#### About the EUYO

The European Union Youth Orchestra (EUYO) is one of the world's pre-eminent symphony orchestras. Founded by Joy and Lionel Bryer in 1976, the EUYO has been a cultural ambassador for the European Union for more than forty years and won many awards, most recently the European Orchestra Award in Dresden from the European Culture Awards TAURUS, and a Cultural Diplomat of the Year Award at the Abu Dhabi Culture Summit.

Described by the The New York Times as "Among the Elite Institutions of its kind", and by former EU commission President Jean-Claude Juncker as "the best possible ambassador for the European Union" the Orchestra has provided an exceptional bridge between music colleges and the professional music world for generations of Europe's finest musicians since its foundation. The EUYO's Honorary President is the President of the European Parliament, and its Honorary Patrons include the Heads of Government of the EU's Member States and the President of the European Commission.

The Orchestra has worked with many of the world's greatest musicians including Daniel Barenboim, Leonard Bernstein, Herbert von Karajan, Mstislav Rostropovich and particularly its three Music Directors and current Chief Conductor: Founding Music Director Claudio Abbado, former Music Director Vladimir Ashkenazy, former Music Director and current Conductor Laureate Bernard Haitink, and Chief Conductor Vasily Petrenko. A truly global brand, the EUYO has performed in most of the world's major concert halls and festivals, and has appeared in many hundreds of venues across five continents.

The EUYO's more than 3,000 alumni have all come through the Orchestra's rigorous, annual audition process conducted in all (currently 28) EU Member States, and many are now notable conductors, soloists, teachers and instrumentalists working with the major orchestras of Europe and throughout the world.

During 2019 the EUYO performs in twelve countries across the EU, North America, the Middle East and South East Asia, working with young musicians from Canada, Cuba, China and Myanmar, as well as all (currently 28) EU Member States. Highlights have included a live-streamed performance of Beethoven's 9th symphony and the European Hymn for an audience of more than seven thousand inside and outside of Berlin's Konzerthaus, as well as performances in major EU cities including Amsterdam, Berlin, Brussels, London, Luxembourg, Prague and Vienna.

For more information please contact: Daniele Milazzo - EUYO Communications Officer daniele@euyo.eu - +44 7471 992975

Honorary President David Sassoli - President of the European Parliament Co-Founders Lionel & Joy Bryer
Founding Music Director Claudio Abbado Chief Conductor Vasily Petrenko Conductor Laureate Bernard Haitink
Co-Chairman Sir Ian Stoutzker, CBE Co-Chairman Sir John Tusa Secretary General Marshall Marcus

### **Honorary Patrons & Committee**

Head of the Honorary Patrons Jean-Claude Juncker – President of the European Commission

Honorary Patron Federica Mogherini – High Representative of the EU for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy, Vice-President of the EU Commission

The heads of state and government of the 28 EU member states, President of the European Committee of the Regions

#### **EUROPEAN UNION YOUTH ORCHESTRA FOUNDATION**

Postal address: Teatro Comunale Claudio Abbado, Corso della Giovecca, 38 - 44121 Ferrara (FE), Italy Legal seat: Via Asiago, 10 – 00195 Roma (RM), Italy | Registered Foundation Reg.1560724 info@euyo.eu - Tel +44 20 7237 7671 P. IVA/VAT number 14993441006 – Codice Fiscale 97967700580







